Steering Group

* Founding Member

University of Utah

Tariq Banuri
Professor, Department of Economics
Lecturer, City & Metropolitan Planning

Kelly Bricker
Chair, Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism

Jess Dwyer
Academic Program Manager, Center for Science & Math Education (College of Science)

Cynthia Furse
Associate Vice-President for Research
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Stephen Goldsmith*
Associate Professor, City & Metropolitan Planning

Bill Johnson
Professor, Department of Geology & Geophysics

David Kieda*
Dean, Graduate School
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy

John Lin
Associate Professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Gabriel Lozada
Associate Professor, Department of Economics

Daniel Mendoza
Research Asst. Professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Pulmonary Fellow, School of Medicine

Kevin Perry
Chair, Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Glenn Prestwich
Professor, Medicinal Chemistry

Anil Seth
Associate Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy

Dave Strayer
Professor, Department of Psychology

State of Utah

Justina Parsons-Bernstein
Heritage & Interpretation Manager, Utah State Parks

Brigham Young University

Mike Joner
Associate Research Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy

J. Ward Moody
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy 

Denise Stephens
Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

Utah State University

Maura Hagan
Dean, College of Science

Jan Sojka
Chair, Department of Physics

Tonya Triplett
Principal Lecturer, Department of Physics

Weber State University

Laine Berghout
Chair, Department of Chemistry

Jeremy Bryson*
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography

John Cavitt
Professor, Department of Zoology

Rick Ford
Chair, Department of Geosciences

Adam Johnston
Professor, Department of Physics

Stacy Palen*
Professor, Department of Physics

Tracy Aviary

Tim Brown
Executive Director

Southern Utah University

Kelly Goonan
Director, Outdoor Recreation in Parks & Tourism

Cameron Pace
Professor, Department of Physics (College of Science & Engineering)

Utah Valley University

Karl Haisch
Professor, Department of Physics

Joe Jensen
Associate Professor, Department of Physics

Kim Nielsen
Assistant Professor, Department of Physics

Salt Lake Community College

Sean Crossland
Chair, Environmental Science & Sustainability

Adam Dastrup
Associate Professor, Environmental Science & Sustainability

Natural History Museum

Sarah George
Executive Director

Becky Menlove
Associate Director

International Dark-Sky Association

John Barentine*
IDA (Tuscon, AZ)

Richard Menzies
Ogden Valley chapter member

Janet Muir*
Ogden Valley chapter member

Affiliate Institution Members

Colorado Mesa University

Tim Casey
Director, Center for Natural Resources

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Mark Rea
Director, Lighting Research Center

Northern Arizona University

Nadine Barlow
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy

University of Wyoming

Carlos Martinez del Rio
Director, Berry Biodiversity Conservation Center


David Williams
Associate Managing Director, Utah Office of Tourism

Michael Lindenmayer
Faculty at Northwestern University, Director at the Stanford University School of Medicine 

Tony Dansie
Director, Community Development (Springdale Town, UT)

Randy Stanley
Night Skies Coordinator, National Park Service (Intermountain Region)

Jay Kinghorn
Director, Digital Strategy (Utah Office of Tourism)

Sara Toliver
President/CEO, Ogden/Weber Convention & Visitor Bureau